Construction Division works on new terminal at San Jose Airport

Graniterock’s Construction Division is laying the ground work for an $82 million private jet terminal, being built mostly for Google executives, at the Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport.

Graniterock, working for general contractor Weitz Construction of Arizona, secured a $13 million piece of the project, which involves building two taxiways, a 900,000-square-foot asphalt apron and a 175,000-square-foot parking lot.

The 29-acre terminal on the northwest side of the airport will feature 240,000 square feet of hangar space. Of the seven hangars under construction for Signature Flight Support, five will house Google jets.

Graniterock’s scope is 6,000 yards of concrete for the new taxiways, 60,000 tons of asphalt and all of the subgrading, lime treating, CTB, base rock placement and fine grading.

The first concrete pour took place in early March.

Project Manager Jim Mitchell, who has worked on several projects at San Jose airport since 2009, said the terminal job has been challenging due to its size and fast schedule, but also tremendously rewarding.

“I really enjoy being able to use all the parts and pieces of Graniterock,” Jim said. “The rock for the concrete and asphalt comes from Aromas, the asphalt comes from our plant in Redwood City and the concrete from the San Jose plant. It’s great to be able to pull from all parts of the Company.”

Jim said the Company’s portion of the project should wrap up in late summer.

A special thanks goes to Ricky Smith Project Supervisor, Pio Romo Concrete Supervisor and the crew members who have helped make this job successful:

Duane Armstrong, Jorge Bautista Nava, Edward Briggs, Robert Gutierrez, John Harper, David Helwig, Luis Leyva, Jose Martinez, Refugio Munoz, Eric Travers, Jose Aguado, Mark Altiery, Eder Arriaga, Octavio Calderon, Emilio Carbajal-Carrillo, Magdaleno Cervantez, Francisco Constantino, Miguel Gallegos Negrete, Victor Gloria Carrillo, Cesar Hernandez, Eduardo Juarez, Manuel Mendoza, Maxcimiliano Navarro, Jesus Pena, Fabian Puga Ramirez, Antonio Romo, Francisco Trujillo and Jose De Jesus Valdivia.